OC Chili Winter Run Series – Race #1

Oh what a run it was.  I opted for the 5-mile trail run in O’Neil Park this Saturday morning and drag my husband along with me.  Note to self: think twice before doing that on the next run.  The run starts out a steep climb for the first two miles.  It was a lot tougher than I thought, but slow and steady we made it to the top.  This was a tough part because Jeff could have gone much faster and I could tell he was getting impatient with me.  After a few choice words back and forth we re-grouped and he became more supportive.  (He thought that telling me to go faster was pushing me in a good way – I let him know it was not).   The first two miles took me about as long as the last three.  The views at the top we beautiful.  I will probably run this course once more before the next race in the series.  After mile two it was almost all down hill.  There was about a mile that was extremely narrow, so I am not sure how all of the runners fit through because you would have to be going single file.  Luckily it was really thin by the time Jeff and I got there so we were able to go at my speed.  I really need to get some trail running tips because I felt I spent so much time looking at the ground trying to make sure I wasn’t going to sprain my ankle.

After the run they had chili at the finish line.  Jeff and I grabbed a bowl – he finished his, I couldn’t stomach mine.  It takes me a while after running to get an appetite.

All in all it was a great race, started on time, the trail was well marked and the volunteers were very nice.

There are three runs in this series so one down and two more to go.

IMAG2671 IMAG2672 IMAG2674 IMAG2675 IMAG2676 IMAG2678 IMAG2680

One comment on “OC Chili Winter Run Series – Race #1

  1. ASP says:

    You go Girl! I deff need to look into some trail running tips too before spring arrives.

    Also, I’ve been nominated for the Versatile Blogger Award & I’m nominating YOU in return!
    Check it out: http://babedailyblog.wordpress.com/2015/01/28/the-versatile-blogger-award/

Leave a Reply

