DP: Plead the Fifth

What question do you hate to be asked? Why?

I HATE being asked when my husband and I are going to have children.  I understand that it is a natural progression we have been married almost 6 years, together almost 13, but we are unsure about wanting children for a plethora of reasons.  But, people feel they can ask and then when we stay “not right now” or whatever generic answer we give, they feel they can probe.  I just want to scream.  Also, they will tell us how our life isn’t complete and there is nothing like having children.  I agree, I am sure there is nothing like having children, but there is also nothing like waking up and looking out your hotel window and seeing the Taj Mahal or going out in the ocean in South African and going cage diving with sharks.  And to say my life isn’t complete – well that is where I lose it.  What if I couldn’t have children due to a medical reason?  What if as a women I had a complex because as a woman if you can’t have children you can feel a little less than?  People need to realize that their decisions are not our decisions and our decisions are not theirs.

One comment on “DP: Plead the Fifth

  1. lilypup says:

    I agree…that is none of people’s business. That’s a great answer to the prompt. http://lilypupslife.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

